Robben: I dived earlier, but that was a penalty!

Arjen Robben said that he dived earlier, but that was a penalty.

30.06.2014 10:16:10

Klaas-Jan Huntelaar netted from the spot to snatch a 2-1 win after Rafael Marquez brought down the Bayern Munich player in the area, ensuring victory for the Dutch after Wesley Sneijder had earlier scored to cancel out Giovani Dos Santos’s goal for Mexico. Earlier, Robben – who has a reputation for diving – had gone down theatrically but referee Pedro Proenca remained unconvinced. In stoppage time, however, the official pointed to the spot and it was the Dutch who avoided extra time and sealed their place in the last eight, against Costa Rica or Greece. ‘In the first half I made a dive. That was a stupid action, I should not have done it,’ Robben said afterwards. Robben insisted that the spot kick that was given was justified, however. Netherlands 2-1 Mexico

Category : Mexico Netherlands Internationals Europe Rest of Europe World Cup 2014